New River Art Biennial & Two More New Exhibits Open Sat. June 17

The New River Art 2017 Biennial Juried Exhibition is coordinated by the Floyd Center for the Arts in Floyd Virginia. Held since 1991, the exhibition rotates every two years among thiscenter, the Blacksburg Regional Art Association and Fine Arts Center for the New River Valley in Pulaski. These three art organizations all have non-profit, 501(c) 3 status. 2017 marks the 14th time the juried New River Art Biennial has been held.  The Juror, Amy Shawley, has chosen 61 pieces of art from within 150 miles of Floyd to create a dynamic and unique exhibition in our Hayloft Gallery.  Mrs. Shawley will be judging these works in person before the Opening Reception to award four cash prizes and multiple honorable mentions.  Awards will be announced at about 5:45pm during the reception.

The Opening Reception is Saturday, June 17, 5-7pm

The reception is celebrating all three of our new exhibitions.  The reception is free and open to the public.  Light refreshments will be served an a cash bar is available.

In our Falcon Gallery, local artist, Nathan Popp, has a vibrant collection of his watercolor paintings on exhibit.  Nathan is a recent graduate of Radford University and currently works as a full time artist and framer in the Blue Ridge Mountains of Southwest Virginia.  In the downstairs Breezeway, young artists from Floyd County High School have also hung their work.  So matter where you are in the center, you can view awesome artwork!

Congratulations to the artists accepted into the “New River Art 2017 Biennial Juried Exhibition”.  They are listed below in alphabetical order:

Deborah Adle, Jeanette Bowker, Jennifer Carpenter, Patricia Carr ,Sarah Carriker, Linda Correll, Eric Cowan, Christian DeMaria, Laura Fender, April Flanders, Dakota Galla, Elizabeth Gillis-Robinson, James Glass, Susan Gring, Sean Hatter, Andrew Hersey, Sue Hossack, Sidra Kaluszka, Gina Louthian-Stanley, Dreama Lovitt, Kala Marshall, Larry Mitchell, Amy Nichols, Jerry Partrick, Marsha Paulekas, Nathan Popp, Timothy Porter, Roberta Sallee, Aaron Staengl, Nancy Stark, Burke Staunton, Lois Stephens, Kristen Waite, Gibby Waitzkin, Rosalind Waiwaiole, David Wooden, Geraldine Young, Cheryl Zibisky

Author: jaxadmin

Share This Post On